top of page
  • hendrikaono

Silently Making; Back to Bookmarks: Part One of Three. Japanese Washi Papers

I feel off balance if I am not engaged in an art project. And I have consistently been creating. And not commenting. But the time is come again to record progress in the hopes that it will speed success for other artists.

I am strongly drawn to functional art. While I paint canvases, it saddens me that they merely hang on the wall. Bookmarks, cards, even painted rocks have defined purpose . And I make them radiantly useful.

For me bookmarks are embellished with either Japanese Washi papers or Washi tape. Both materials are long term favourites in my maker's toolkit.


Japanese Washi Paper Bookmarks

Materials:

scissors, (decorative edged, regular and pinking shears), exacto knife

cutting mat,

various japanese papers,

cardstock for the base support,

glues (I cycle between Modge Podge, extra strength glue sticks and regular white glue ; haven't had good luck with spray adhesive so it's primarily Modge Podge)

ruler

sewing machine

hole punch

ribbons





The guiding design principle for these bookmarks is the Japanese kimono; layering of complimentary patterns. It's a rabbit hole...


I create pattern depth by covering the cardstock cut into bookmark lengths with a paper. I then add an overlay border with another pattern, like a picture frame. Include a secondary larger framing border sandwiched between the bottom layer and the top border so that all three papers are visible. Reverse the process for other side of the bookmark so that the framing border on one side is now the base and the base has become the border. Stitch the papers together then glue onto the cardstock. I am always astounded by how very very long it all takes. One of the challenges for me is creating truly harmonized designs within a very complex colour/pattern environment. Finish by hole punching bookmark and adding a coordinating ribbon. Or slide a ribbon onto the raw cardstock before gluing the papers on top.





22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page